On Birthdays and Big Events

DeathtoStock5 Death_to_stock_photography_weekend_work (3 of 10)

Photo credit: deathtothestockphoto

I bet most of us clearly remember those times when we were so excited for our birthday (not even a party, but just the day) that we’d wake up ridiculously early, even though we had trouble falling asleep the night before. I bet most of us went through the same thing the night before/morning of big events as well. I sure know I did. But then time happens. We get older, or maybe even grow up, and things change. It’s not that exciting anymore. Sure, presents are nice, having a day be all yours is nice, but it doesn’t cause your blood to boil with excitement anymore. Heaven knows I haven’t felt that way about my birthday for years.

Not until now.

I’m writing this post on the day before my birthday, the day before it is published. For the first time in years, I get butterflies in my stomach from thinking about tomorrow. I have problems sitting still, and i can guarantee that I’ll have problems falling asleep tonight. However, while I’ll also be waking up terribly early, this has nothing to do with the fact that  it’s my birthday. Our flight leaves at 6:15 am, so my alarm will be at 3:30 am. While it’s not related to my birthday, it certainly proves the significance of the day.

Tomorrow is my birthday, and tomorrow I move away from home for the first time. When you’re reading this I’m probably either in Copenhagen or in London, on the airport, waiting either for my connecting flight or my bus. I’ve probably been travelling for hours already and still have hours to wait before arriving at my final destination; my new home. My university. My own room, far from my parents’ house.

It feels surreal to even consider, because I’ve been thinking about it for so long, and now it’s here. I’m moving out. I’m starting university. In a different city. In a different country. It’s so strange.

I wasn’t going to put up a post here today. My post was going to be over on my tumblr, a follow forever, outlining my favourite blogs. That’s still happening. But these past days have been unlike anything I’ve ever experienced, and I felt the need to write it down. So that’s what I’ve done. If you want more rambling from me on this topic, head over to my studyblr where there are sure to be quite some ranting as tomorrow happens, and head over to my youtube channel for my college countdown vlog, which is about 90% ranting.

I’m so thankful to have had you guys’ support, and it hope you’ll keep up with me during this new adventure.

To another year and a new adventure!

signature

2 thoughts on “On Birthdays and Big Events

  1. Ana says:

    Happy birthday! Hope you have a wonderful day! I really like your blog and tumblr as well. Your writing is really nice. Keep up with good work and I wish you all the luck at the uni!

    Like

  2. Shivanshi Tyagi says:

    Happy Birthday, Mary! Have a wonderful day and a even more wonderful year! xD

    I love your blog and tumblr. You have helped me so much. College is going to be amazing. I can feel it. :3

    Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

