2014 A to Z

Greetings everyone!

When I was planning out my blog schedule a little while ago, I kept thinking about what should be my last saturdaystudying @ maryplethora blog post for 2014. A sum up seemed like a good idea. However, collecting all the thing that have happened, like I do in my weekly roundups, would be hard as I don’t have much records from what happened earlier in the year. On top of that I am just extremely forgetful.

Therefore, instead of trying to chronologically remember back, I was thinking that I could do an A to Z, with a little story or association for each letter.

I hope that by this time next year, I will still be blogging, and be ready to do another one of this. To a new year, everyone!

aLL OF THE WORK

This last semester has been so different for me. I have though that I’ve had a lot to do earlier years, but nothing has even come close to this semester. I have been sitting with school work from I got home from school, to I went to bed, every single day for months. That is more than I have ever done before. However, I think it has made me a better person when it comes to work ethics and to knowing myself, and I made it through it. I’m proud of myself.

Blogging

I’ve wanted to start blogging several times over the years, but I’ve never really had the guts to do it, or even known what I would blog about. However, after being introduced to the studyblr community first and then seeing that this was something I could develop further, I finally ventured into it.

I have to say that it is something I have greatly enjoyed this far. I’ve gotten to explore a bit, try my hand at some photos, editing, writing, html and other stuff that comes along with it. It has also proven to be the hobby that I didn’t know I missed.

I haven’t had a proper hobby in so long, and having something to do that seemed purposeful outside of schoolwork has been great in keeping me sane this semester. Let’s just hope I can keep it up!

Chemistry

Chemistry has never been my favourite subject. For over a year of taking it, it was one of my least favourites. Now I love it.

I love working with it and gaining understanding, and seeing my grade rise has only been the icing on the cake. I am so glad that I have finally come to enjoy it as a subject,

Denmark

This summer I went to Denmark with one of my friends and her family. It was a great trip and the first time I have really gone on a holiday without my family. It was so much fun and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. It was also so great for bonding and just spending time together.

Eighteen

I turned 18 this September, and being from Norway that means that I was introduced to the wonderful life of a legal adult. This means that when I started my last year of the IB and the russe arrangements started up, I was allowed to participate. This in turn means that I have now had my first encounters with both drunk people, and alcohol. Summary: Drunk people are funny, but annoying, alcohol is gross, and parties drain my introverted self of energy.

With my 18th birthday passing, the date for my driver’s exam is coming closer. I’m absolutely terrified, pretty stress and just very ready for this whole ordeal to be over with.

Family holiday

This year my gran invited her two daughters and their families to Spain with her for a holiday to celebrate her 75th birthday. It was so much fun, and especially getting to spend time with my three year older cousin, whom I later this year visited where she lives in Bergen. I really love going on holiday with my family and just getting to spend time with them.

Gifts

This year for Christmas I have been really into DIYing gifts for people, especially as I haven’t had that many people to give gifts to. Also, instead of buying one big thing, I’ve rather given them a little collection of things that I know they use and love. One of my friends got a mug and two types of tea, while one of my other friends got a mug, hot chocolate mix and a jar of marshmallows. Also, by far my favourite is the gift to my brother, which is a teacup with three mini succulents in it.

Holiday

The Christmas holiday this year has felt unreal as I just can’t fathom that Christmas is here already. This semester has gone by so quickly and it seems completely wrong that the year is almost over. However, the holidays has been amazing thus far, simply because I’ve taken a break from schoolwork and I am enjoying it to the absolute max.

IB

This year I have been competing the middle two of my four semesters of IB. It seems surreal that I’m soon to be done, and I am both anticipating it and dreading it at the same time.

This is where I have most of my friends, and they are all so amazing people. It is going to be incredibly sad to leave them all next year, but they really have made this time so incredibly valuable to me.

Jogging

Say hello to my mortal enemy. Before the summer I really did a good job at keeping up with a running routine, but after the break it fell apart and I had to fake all of my running this year, simply due to the lack of time. I will try to get back into it, but I doubt that it’ll happen.

Kisses

Before me and my boyfriend broke up in August, this was one of the favourite parts of my day. I never knew that they could be so nice.

Life (or lack thereof)

As mentioned, and complained about, a billion times, I haven’t had a life at all this semester. I don’t really mind though. I came out stronger on the other side, and that is what counts.

Mock Exams

I have been through two rounds of mock, or mini mock really, exams now in preparation of my exams in May 2015. Our teachers always tell us that they are to prepare us for the exams, so that we know how things are going to go down and that we won’t be as nervous. I really think that they are right, because I don’t really dread my exams at all. I know the drill and I know how it’s gonna be.

Norway

This has been my last full year of living in Norway, and I don’t even think I’ve fully realised it yet. I absolutely love my country, for everything that it is, and it is going to be sad as hell to leave it behind after the summer break next year. On the other hand I am sick and tired off it and I am beyond excited to be going on new adventures!

Openmindedness

I feel like this is something that has really improved for me this year. I have learnt to deal with people and situations in a whole different way, as well as my self. I have learnt to question what I know and to readily accept new things, in a whole different way than I used to.

Panic

For the first time this year I have really felt the panic over whether I am going to be able to finish something on time. This was first with y extended essay first draft, then the final draft, then my History IA, then my Maths IA. However, I also encountered some panic when I realised that I am going to have to make a firm decision about what I want to do next year.

Questioning my choices

For a long time now I had planner to go the local university next year and stay there for three years, before going to the UK to get my Master’s degree. However, during my fall break I realised that this wasn’t what I wanted. I questioned wether this was a route I would actually enjoy taking or not. This also helped me grow this year.

Relationship

This year I had my first relationship. Officially it lasted from January to August, and while it brought my much confusion and uncertainty, it also gave me many fond memories. I still care a lot about the guy I was in this relationship with, and it was a clean break, much out of practicality reasons. Over all it was a very good experience, and I would definitely do it again.

Not to mention that he is back in town for the holidays and I am hella excited to see him again and marathon Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D with him!

Sleep

This is something I definitely realised the importance of this year. I am still always tired, but I am able to be much more effective and get much more done than I would if I hadn’t gotten into some better sleep habits.

Tumblr

I have had tumblr for such a long time, but it wasn’t until September that I found my true home here; the studyblr community. I never really found my place before this, but now I definitely know I’m home. It has been such an inspiration to me since I made this studyblr and also my blog, and I would say it is the reason that I was able to keep going through my tougher periods this semester. Thank all of you so much!

University

As mentioned, I will be going to uni next year, and these last few months has been heavily influenced by that. I have been researching my arse off, writing my personal statement, stressing out over grades and recommendation letters and whatever else there is to stress over. Now I’m in, I have selected my firm choice, I’ve gotten a conditional offer and it is actually official that I’ll be going to the UK next year. I am hella excited!

Valentine’s Day

For the first time I actually had someone to spend Valentine’s Day with this year. However, as fate would have it, I got sick and had to go home from school to stay in bed all day. In the afternoon there was a knock on the door and my boyfriend had showed up with chocolate for me. It is one of the sweetest things anyone has ever done for me.

Winter (or lack thereof)

As I live in Norway, I am pretty used to winters. Quite harsh ones at that. But not this year. It’s been above freezing every day (if you don’t count the ice wind, brr) and we haven’t had any snow yet. I’m kind of bummed, but I suppose I’ll live.

(e)Xperimenting

This year I’ve been a lot more openminded as I mentioned, and this has been really positive for my studying. Instead of just continuing with the same old things that I’ve been doing, that haven’t always been working that well, I’ve been experimenting and expanding my horizons, trying new things. This includes mind maps, flashcards, and revisions posters. I’ve been loads better off from it.

Youtube

Just like I’ve for a long time wanted to start blogging, I’ve wanted to start youtube ever since I got into watching videos. I’ve only gotten more into that this year, and not too long ago I made my first youtube video, a Studyblr Q&A. I really hope that I’ll get around to making more of them, but as I’m so awkward I don’t want to film with my family in the house, so we’ll see what happens. Either way I really do enjoy it.

 Zoo

Now to a fond memory to round this extremely long post off. Where I live there is a zoo pretty close by, and every summer and one of my closest friends go to the zoo and spend an entire day going around and looking at absolutely all of the animals. This year as well it was an amazing experience and I am so glad that I got to share it with her. I also definitely hope that it is something we’ll have the chance to do for years and years in the future.

And that, my friends, is the end of one extremely long post. I wanted to do this to tell you a bit about my year, but I had no idea it would end up this long. Now, I would love to hear any anecdotes that you have from the year that have passed, related to things that I mentioned, or not at all. Anyway, message me with them at saturdaystudying or just reblog this post and add them.

Now, let’s hope the new year will be just as eventful and memorable!

image

Leave a Reply

