Study Tip: Figuring Out What Works For You

Greetings everyone!

As you can see from the title of this post, this is going to be a study tips post. It is also going to be a study tips series. I was thinking of posting a new tip every day (or maybe every other day), as well as my experience with them. If you guys have any tips that you’d like me to write about, feel free to leave them in the comments. Alright? Good, let’s get on with it then!

Figuring out what works for you

It is definitely easier said than done, but I’d also say that it’s quite important. You can spend so much unnecessary time studying if you aren’t doing it in a way that is effective for you. The difficult thing about this is also that it changes. A few years ago I learnt all the information that I needed for every subject simply by reading through the material once and then having my mum quiz me on it. Now… Let’s just say that it takes a lot more than that.

Getting to know yourself when it comes to studying isn’t only about what way you learn the best, it is also about where and when you’re the most productive, if you can listen to music or not, if you need to keep a tidy space or are okay working in clutter (as I obviously am form the picture above). It is also important to be aware what incentives works best for you. Are you more effective when faced with the whip or the carrot? And in either case, what type? I for one am very weak for food. Promise me food and I’ll do almost anything.

Unfortunately there is no magic way to get to know yourself overnight, it takes work and experimentation. Also, like everywhere else in life we never stop learning, so remember to keep and open mind and adapt your routines now and then.

I am curious to know what you guys have learnt about yourself and your studying over the years. Want to tell me? Do so in the comments, and I’ll talk to you soon!

image
Leave a Reply

